3 Ways to Stop Being Negative

Why is it hard for some people to be happy?

You know those type of people…the Negative Nancys and Neds…the folks who choose to lean towards negativity ALL the time. Their FB posts are always full of “poor me-itus.”

Their negativity feeds on itself. It’s just science y’all, when you have a bad attitude, it creates negative energy, which in turn produces more negativity.

And the common denominator? People CHOOSE to be negative. Yes, that’s right, it’s a CHOICE. And the same can be said for those who CHOOSE happiness. The happy folks choose not to be held hostage by whatever unfairness took place.

Now please don’t get me wrong, if I am to be completely honest here, I am not always a happy person. I have to actively remind myself to find joy and put the work in to achieve it!

Here are a few ways I’ve been trying to be a happier person:

1. Find ways to be Grateful. Every morning, while I’m sitting and drinking my coffee, I write down 3 things I’m grateful for. (I use my phone’s Notes app.)

2. Practice kindness. Being kind to others is not only great for the person you’re being kind to but it also brings satisfaction to yourself.

3. Quit comparing your life to others’ you see on social media. For one thing, you don’t always see the real stuff on social media. A majority of people tend to only share the good stuff happening. (And as someone who mainly posts good stuff…my reasoning: who wants to read posts from a negative Nancy? Not me!)

Whatever blog or self-help book you read, 9 times out of 10, the author will tell you the key to happiness can be achieved. You just have to be willing to put in the work to get it!

So what will you do today to become a Happy Helen or Henry?

Published by katiekey1

I'm a Mom, wife, & cancer survivor! I started this blog along with my "Midlifer Mamas and More" FB and IG pages to be your Encourager & Accountability Partner! If you would like to email me and learn how I can help, please send to: midlifermamas@gmail.com

One thought on “3 Ways to Stop Being Negative

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started